top of page

Week 19: 5/7-5/13

Sunday: Paddling Banquet

It was a really bitter sweet day. Today was my last day of paddling. Emma and I left for paddling around 9:30 in the morning and made it in time to go paddling. It was raining and a cloudy morning but it doesn’t matter it wasn’t going to stop us from going out. It was the exact same as when I went paddling for the first time ever. There were 18 of us today which was the most that we have in a while. We took out the double hull and one of Makana Aloha. Emma and I were in the double hull together along with Rosa, Johana, Steve, and tons of others. We were out there for almost three hours. We started by paddling along the edge of the bay all the way to the back side where we jumped off the canoes and went swimming. Then when we were done jumping we got back in the canoes and paddled along the breaker wall. We were going to go outside but the weather was not the best and the waves were crashing over the breaker wall so we thought it was better not to go out. When we got to the edge of the wall we headed back into the bay towards the lighthouse. Since it was such a windy and rainy day that meant there were awesome waves coming into the bay which meant we could go SURFING and Jonah was our steersmen which meant that we were going to catch all the waves. AND GUESS WHAT WE DID!!! WE RODE THE WAVES! As soon as we got on the first wave the sun came out and started shining. It was amazing. We spent the next 45 minutes just catching waves and laughing. It was a great way to end the season. When were exhausted and tired, we paddled along the beach side and brought the boats in. When everything was clean and put away, Emma and I went back to my dorm to pick up our food for the pot luck. I made banana pudding and she made sweet potato pudding. Once we got our food we went back to the huala and had the potluck. There was all sorts of food! It was so good! We spent a couple hours talking to everyone before I had to say goodbye. It was so hard to say goodbye to these people especially Rosa and Jonah. They became like older siblings. Everyone on the team became my family. I could talk to them about anything. I am going to miss my paddling family. When we were done at the potluck, Emma and I went back to campus. I showered and then we met in the library and studied until dinner. After dinner, I went back to my room and studied for my global change and Volcanoes and Earthquakes until I went to bed.

Monday: Studying Exams

Today was spent studying. I woke up around 9:30 am and went straight to the library to finish the edits on my Aquaculture take home exam, study for global change and Volcanoes and Earthquakes. I have been studying for these exams off and on all last week and this weekend, but having testing anxiety sucks because no matter how much you study, at times it feels like you haven’t prepared enough. I was in the library from 9:30 am until 12:00 pm when Mallorie, Bell, Emma and I went out to lunch. We tried to eat at Pineapples but it was closed so we went to Ken’s Diner to get lunch. It was a ton of fun and a great way to relax. Then I was back in the library from 1:00 to 6:30 when I left to get dinner. After eating, I went back to my dorm and studied in the lobby with Michaela for global change and I surprised her with some banana pudding. I had promised here I would make her some at some point and I had a whole tray left over from yesterday so it worked perfectly! Then I went back to my room and reviewed Volcano and Earthquake material until I fell asleep around 10:01 pm.

Tuesday: Global Change and Volcanoes Exams

I was up today at 6:30 am so that I could stop by campus center and get breakfast before my global change final at 7:30 am. After eating, I went over to the room early so I could mentally prepare for the exam. The exam was super easy. I went through the thing in about 40 minutes and then spent another 30 minutes double checking my answers and turned it in. This gave me an extra hour to go study for my Volcano and Earthquakes exam that I had at 9:40 am. Just like the global change exam, I went to the room early and reviewed my notes and flashcards before the exam. This exam took me a little longer but I was still out early. I think I did well on the exam but there were a few I had no clue about. I think I got an A but I will not know until later in the week. When I was done with my exams, I went to lunch with Michaela and then stopped by my room for an hour nap and then went back to studying. I went to the library to review my coral reef ecology notes for my exam on Thursday. This is exam I am nervous about. I have not been doing well on his exams but have been going to see him at least once a week the whole semester. I am meeting with him tomorrow but need to make sure that I have questions. When I was done reviewing, I went and got dinner with Alexa, Raymie, and Stefanie. Alexa was going home tonight so she could make it back to Ramapo, in New Jersey, for graduation on Thursday. When we were done eating, we walked back to her dorm and helped take her to the airport to say goodbye. It was really hard to say goodbye. I know that I will see her again in October when I go to New Jersey to see Stefanie but that seems so far away. I miss her so much. In order to feel better after dropping her off, Anita and Kama took me back to BCM where we had coffee and Brownies and talked for a little bit. I had to leave at 8 pm so I could meet with Michaela to work on the aquaculture take home exam and to make sure we both submitted it on time. We did and afterwards, we ate the left over banana pudding from Sunday’s potluck and spent the next couple hours talking.

Wednesday: Aquaculture Exam

Today was another study day. I turned in my Aquaculture final to Dr. Hopkins last night and he responded this morning saying it was readable and that he received it, so I was able to relax and be done with that class forever! Thank goodness. I had a meeting with Dr. Beets to review one last time before I take the exam tomorrow. He told me that I would do just fine and that I need to relax. We have been studying together all semester all will be good. After meeting and studying with him for about an hour, I went to the market one last time with Emma and Bell. I had to look for some last gifts for my friends and family. When we were done shopping, we went to Walmart and Ross to get some last-minute souvenirs and some snacks for the rest of finals week. Then we went to Big Island Candies and tried all of the samples. They are known for giving unlimited free samples so my friends went and got tons of samples and then bought tons of cookies. When we were done shopping, we headed back to campus. I went back to my room to drop off all of my gifts and then went to the library to study more. I am so nervous this test tomorrow. I was in the library for several hours and then decide it was best for me to go get dinner and go back to my room and study a little bit and then go to sleep.

Thursday: Saying Goodbye

Today was a really sad day. I woke up extra early this morning so I could say bye to Stefanie who is one of the best friends I have made here. I got up around 8:00 am so I could spend another hour and a half with her before she left. We walked, talked and hung out in her room until Kama showed up to take her to the airport. I wasn’t able to go because I had an exam in about an hour so I said goodbye instead. We stood there hugging for a few minutes. It was so hard to say goodbye. That was the hardest goodbye I have had to make in a long time. It is going to be so strange not seeing her everyday but I am very excited to go visit her in the fall and for her to show me around New Jersey and New York and try real New Jersey Pizzas and Bagels because they are supposedly the best….we will see J. I had to walk away after saying goodbye. I couldn’t watch her go, I was so sad. I had to go take a walk and calm down. I was crying so hard and I needed to stop so I could have clear head to take my last final. I went and did some last minute studying in campus center so I could eat some breakfast and review my flashcards. After eating, I went over to the marine science building and studied with some friends and went and sat in the class room to mentally prepare and take the exam. I was the last person done with the exam, as usual and then talked to Dr. Beets for a while. He graded the True or False section of the test that I am the worst at and instead of missing 6 out of 10 like on the last test I only missed one out of 15! Guys my hard work seems to have paid off. I don’t know how I did on the whole exam but the fact that I did that well on that section makes me super hopeful. Dr. Beets said that I should be very proud of myself. I worked super hard and that he could see the improvement in my understanding of the material. He also called me one of the gems of the class because of my positive attitude and my smile and that I made this class special to him. I am so sad that I won’t be able to talk to him and see him as often as I did this semester. I loved going into his office to talk story and just learn more about coral reefs. He was an incredible person. I gave him a hug and wished him well and went on my way to help some friends pack and move stuff to storage lockers. I helped Michaela first. She had 4 bags and we made our way to the storage unit close to coconut bay. Then I helped Emma pack her car and move her stuff to another storage unit across town. Anita then came and picked us up so we didn’t have to walk back. We stopped by BCM to get some coffee and donuts so we could say goodbye to our friends. Anita then drove us the cafeteria so I could meet Michaela for dinner and then tell her goodbye. It was so sad to see her leave, but I am really excited for her to come visit either in the fall or at Christmas! I can’t wait to see her again. After she left, I went back to Emma’s room to make one more lei with her, Bell, and Gina. Then we went to collect more leaves to make more lei’s and then I headed back to my room to get some stuff to sleepover. We ended up staying up and talking before we all crashed.

Friday: Packing

I slept over at Emma last night for one last hurrah before she left for Maui then on her way home. We woke up at 6:00 am and I rode with her and Auntie Delina to the airport so I could say goodbye. I refused to say goodbye until the very last moment. After saying goodbye auntie dropped me off and I started packing my room. I had a lot to pack and get ready to move out today. It took me from 8:00 am to 5:00 pm to get it all done. I did take a break to get lunch and dinner but the rest of the time was spent running around packing, shipping gifts and saying goodbyes. I officially checked out at 8:30 pm, but get to spend one last night in my room before I leave. I can’t believe it is almost time for me to leave Hawaii. Every time I think about it I get upset. I know that I will be back here one day whether to move or visit but it just blows my mind that I am about to leave. The rest of the night I worked on my blog and watched movies.

Saturday: Graduation

I had to wake up extra early today so I could move out of my dorms. I was up at 7:00 am so I could do some last-minute packing and cleaning. I was out of my dorm at 8:00 am and Anita picked me up not long after so we could to graduation. I knew several people graduating today and wanted to go support them. The graduation ceremony was 3 hours long but it was really worth it to see them graduate and be so happy. After the ceremony, Anita and I walked around looking for some of the students in BCM to put Lei’s on them. We ran into several of them and got to congratulated them. While we were looking for them I also ran into Kailah and got to give her a hug and congratulate her. I also gave her a lei. It’s really neat to go to a graduation in Hawaii. To celebrate the accomplishment, everyone brings lei’s to put on the graduates. It can be a flower or leaf lei, some put food and candies on them, and then people will also make lei’s out of whisky bottles, pool noodles and pool floaties. It was so neat. (PS… anyone reading this I would love to have my neck covered in Leiʻs next year when I graduate…your mission is to make it happen J) After walking around looking for people, Anita took me out to lunch at Miyoʻs which is a Japanese restaurant. I got a bento box which included Chicken Katsu, sesame chicken, white rice, tempura shrimp and vegetables and miso soup. It was so good! Some of the best Japanese I have ever had. When we were done with lunch, we walked across the street and got Brudah Pops, which are the best popsicles I have ever had; we both had the honey dew melon flavor. Oh man they are the best so juicy and yummy. I could eat hundreds of them. So sad I won’t be able to eat them when I leave on Monday or maybe I will find a way for them to ship them to me…that would be awesome!! After we finished our popsicles, Anita dropped me back off at my dorm so I could check in. I got settled and ended up taking a nap. All of my roommates were asleep when I got in so I laid down on the couch and crashed as well. I woke up around 5:30 pm and decided to walk to Kamanaʻs Kitchen. Kamanaʻs Kitchen is a really good Indian restaurant. I got my food to go and came back and ate at my apartment on campus. One of my roommates Maddi was home with one of her friends and we spent the night talking and getting to know each other. Joy, my other roommate came out and joined us and the 4 of us talked for a long time. It was great that I was rooming with these really sweet people for my last 2 nights in Hawaii. It is definitely making the transition smoother! When we were done talking, we all went to sleep.

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page